Mark Ingram Wins Heisman Trophy

Mark Ingram

Mark Ingram

In the closest vote in the history of the Heisman Trophy, Alabama Crimson Tide Running Back Mark Ingram edged Stanford Running Back Toby Gerhart to win the 75th Heisman Trophy.

Ingram finished the season with 1542 yards, 15 rushing touchdowns, along with 347 receiving yards and three receiving touchdowns for the first ranked Crimson Tide. Ingram is the first Alabama player to ever win the award.

Runner up Toby Gerhart had a considerably better year, rushing for nearly 1,750 yards and a whopping 26 touchdowns for Stanford but Ingram got more votes for being on the best team in the NCAA.

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy also came very close to winning the award falling just short yet again. McCoy passed for 3,500 yards, 27 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. McCoy also failed to win the award last year despite truly phenomenal numbers.

Finishing fourth was Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and fifth was Florida quarterback Tim Tebow who won the award a couple of years ago.

Ingram’s Crimson Tide will face McCoy’s Texas Longhorns in the BCS Championship game this year.

Ingram is the third consecutive sophomore to win the trophy after Tim Tebow won it in 2007 and Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford won it last year.

Ingram’s win was especially surprising because 2009 was expected to be the year of the quarterback with Tim Tebow, Colt McCoy, and Sam Bradford all returning. While Tebow and McCoy definitely stepped up. Bradford had to miss most of the year with injury.

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>